Tidal Fish Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
152 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all, i am new to fly fishing and trying to get a few licks in before the cold freezes me out for the winter. I have a boat and the ability to get to most places in the mid bay region. Im looking for some pointers on where to find them with the weather being what it is now and with trolling being the most productive with heavy tackle. It seems that they are holding bottom now and its tough for me to get my floating line 30 feet down ;-)how do you target them on the fly. Are they in there typical close to shore locations or can they be "jigged" up in the middle of the bay. I have a 9wt rod, oversized real with floating line and some basic fly patterns. What fly patterns are working best this time of year.

any input would really help...thanks, Todd

·
Registered
196 Posts
Unless you can find a whole hive of birds working, you are going to need to get yourself a sinking line or at least an intermediate. I use a 350 grain which works well. About a week ago, it was game on in Eastern Bay with rolling fish up to 41 inches in shallow water 10-30 ft, but the cold/wind seems to have pushed that Montauk-like fishing out of the area. I'd be willing to bet that there will still be some good fishing yet to come, but I had never seen it like that before. Look at the two recent posts on flies that are working now and try to get something with the profile of the 4-6 inch baby bunker that are (or were) around. Good luck and get that sinking line!

·
Registered
598 Posts
I live down near the mouth of the bay( CBBT) and don't know squat about other parts of the bay.

Down here, I fish mainly at night. Any lit structure holds fish - especially on an outgoing tide/current. Bridges or back yard docks, it doesn't matter as long as there is a light. Swim a black clouser past some structure and hang on. A gurgler is also a blast if you prefer top water action.