Tidal Fish Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1,336 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is just a cruel reminder of what the LT fishing was like almost precisely 2 years ago to the day. We caught a dozen of these slot reds on the morning of July 20, 2013 in skinny water on the Rapp/Corrotoman River. The river is a desert this year. Hopefully better times are coming!

·
Registered
374 Posts
It would be nice, but I'm not expecting that kind of action for another few years. I am no expert, but from talking to a few of the people that I consider very knowledgeable about fishing the bay (at least the lower portion), we have really good spawns of reds about every 5 to 6 years. The fish we were catching in 2013 and 2014 were from a good 2011/2012 spawn. Those fish have now grown to over 30 inches and have, for the most part joined the big boys that migrate out to the ocean. If that pattern holds true, we may not have that kind of fishery on slot sized reds again until maybe 2018. Just my thoughts, but maybe someone that is more knowledgeable about the redfish spawning habits will chime in.

Edit: Found this post from the Virginia board that Byrd posted in 2011. His prediction was pretty darned close IMO and falls pretty much in line with what I have been told by others. I think its interesting:

"Seems like every 6-7 years there is a pup explosion. I first remember catching them in 1996 on the flats. In 2002 -2003 I found them all over Back river. They were there for two years, then gone. In 2008 - 2009 they were back like gangbusters, last year sucked as did this year. It will be 2014 before we have another great year on the pups."

http://www.tidalfish.com/forums/showthread.php/310711-Did-the-pups-decide-to-sit-this-season-out

·
Registered
259 Posts
I'll see your 20" fish and raise you a 25" Potomac Red from Sept. 2013. One of a dozen or so caught that day.