Tidal Fish Forum banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
1,455 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
No news from Capitol Hill vis-a-vis the menhaden cap. Assemby's back in session, I doubt they'll ajourn before saturday so I guess that means it's up to the ASMFC now.

Hope they hurry up so I can figure out if I still need to obey the rockfish regulations this year.[sad]

·
Registered
1,455 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Seems like it has the potential. I just hope it's an open debate/fight and not a back room brokered deal kind of thing. I'm no expert but more than the fate of menhaden & the Bay it sounds like ASFMC's cred is on the line. Not sure if the current administration will back them up seeing as who's living in the White House.

·
Registered
1,019 Posts
He made a statement ! http://www.governor.virginia.gov/MediaRelations/NewsReleases/2006/Mar06/index.cfm

About basket ball[sad]

·
Registered
248 Posts
Looks like its not going to happen this year afterall...

Norfolk Virginian Pilot
Kaine won't impose cap on menhaden from Chesapeake Bay
April 1, 2006

http://home.hamptonroads.com/stories/story.cfm?story=102377&ran=10883

Gov. Timothy M. Kaine will not impose a cap this year on the harvesting of menhaden from the Chesapeake Bay, his office said late Friday, just hours before an April 1 deadline arrived.

A spokesman said the governor is concerned about the possible consequences of his inaction, which might include a closure of all state waters to menhaden fishing. But, by a quirk in the law, Kaine had no choice but to back away, his press secretary, Kevin Hall , said.

Here's the rub:

A state law passed last year empowers the governor to enact a cap on menhaden if, after consulting with scientists and regulators, he believes such a limit is necessary to protect the little silvery fish, which are important to Virginia's economy as well as the Bay's ecosystem.