Tidal Fish Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm pretty new to trolling. I used to troll for blues out of Sea Isle City, NJ when i was a kid, but i dont really remember much of that. I'm planning on giving it a go this fall. Now here's my question. When you actually get a fish on, how do you keep it from fouling the other lines that are out? I can only assume that you keep motoring. I experimented this summer with putting out a 4 rod spread, making sure i could make turns without fouling lures . I'd put the stretch way back, then deploy the other rigs. That got me thinking... if I actually catch a fish on the stretch, how do i keep it out of the other lines. Also, I'll probably be going solo for a majority of the trips. Should i throw it in neutral when reeling it in just in case i go over? Or, is that going to ensure that my rigs get fouled.

Any advice on a 6 rod spread with no outriggers or planers? I have 6 decent trolling rods (4 Senator's and 2 GTI's). I have made up a couple of rigs consisting of tandem white parachutes, tandem chartreuse parachutes, a big chart. umbrella with swim shads, a small umbrella with Storms, a Chart/Green Crippled Alewife with a 20oz bucktail rigged in tandem, 2 different color stretch25's and a couple of surgical tubes.

I'll be trolling mostly in the ocean from AC NJ down to OC MD. I typically fish the UB with light tackle, well north of Pooles... I dont think too many people troll up there though.

Thanks

·
Registered
2,859 Posts
We need a little more info: Are you trolling for the migratory fish moving down the coast in the witer months? Where are the rod holders positioned on your boat? Gunnel, hardtop, ect.

bill

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·