Tidal Fish Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
166 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I need some help guys, my wife is freaking out about all these "lost at sea" fisherman lately, One of the (2 from last weekend) guy's brother works at our shop.....sad. She wants, (so do I) me to have a vhf radio (marine band) for saftey...problem is (as always) is funds are tight...and we are trying to save for a trip back home to ND (havent been back since last Sept) Sooooooo.....does anybody have a good, cheap, used, WATERPROOF (or i suppose i could put it in a dry case), marine band radio....(one with weather?)
That they would sell or trade (i am an auto mechanic...will work for food[wink]) lol....bm me or let me know......peace out!

·
Registered
302 Posts
Everyone out there needs to have a VHF, it's as important as a PFD or BVDs. Not only for safety reasons, but so you can alert your fellow kayak brothers of a bite. I've got an Icom M32 that was less than 150 clams. I would not go any cheaper. With the abuse and misuse we put our equipment through, you gotta have a radio you can depend on. Then you gotta get a cool handle like Smokey and the Bandit. BTW: Tidewater Kayakers monitor channel 72.

·
Registered
580 Posts
My wife bought me a first aid kit for the yak. I think it is debatable on what you need and don't need to bring along. You can have all the **** in the world with you but that won't save you from getting run over by some wacko powerboater. I also think that having to much gear could get in the way to the point of entanglement. It depends on what type of trip you are on.

Face it, everything you do is a risk! You have a better chance of dying in a car wreck on the way to the ramp than you do in the water if you take a few precautions.

·
Registered
253 Posts