Tidal Fish Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
153 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So i just got my yak P-13 rigged and ready to go but the water seems to still be cold here in Central Va. I would like to hit the water but im not that experienced and wanted to see if i could get some suggestions from the experts. If all else fails ill have to wait till the water warms up.

Thanks,

Dave

·
Registered
999 Posts
I wear dry top and waders when water temps are under 60 degrees. When water temps are in the 60's, I'll wear a short sleave mysterioso top and quick dry pants. Mysterioso gear provides some cold water protection. I always wear a pfd.

·
Registered
457 Posts
I've been out about every weekend since it got cold and I usually wear long johns and jeans, thermal shirt ,long sleeves, and a fleece top and hat. sometimes I wear a pfd and sometimes I dont ,but thats just me.I hit every lake and river I can, because when the water warms I head east flatties!!!

DARREN

·
Registered
165 Posts
I got my yak a little over a year ago...i cut my teeth at the CBBT with 40 degree water...fear of cold water taught me good balance..lol (i have yet to turtle...knock on rotomolded plastic)[grin]

·
Registered
40 Posts
I just bought my P13 in November... i've been out twice on a wide creek near my house. I usually pick a nice day, water temps have stayed around 42-45 there all winter... both trips were 50-75deg... so I was very comfortable in t-shirt, jeans, waders, and a PFD. I had a sweater in the crate just incase it got chilly, and an extra sweater and a change of clothes in the dry bag just incase I get wet.