Tidal Fish Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys im thinking about running a Tony Acceta spoon on my way back line.How much inline weight should I use. Line is 60# braid with a 18 ft. mono leader. What other lures would be good to try on my way back line besides a stretch? Thanks!

·
Registered
438 Posts
I run 2 lures on my WWB line either a white daisy chain or spoon in tandem with a 2-4 Oz parachute. I run no weight on either and have had luck on both it's a coin flip on which one I run.

·
Registered
562 Posts
TH, I am no expert but here is what I have learned in the past 2 years (Help from several experts on this board)
I now run a 14 rod spread and we tried running Tony's several times
They are more trouble than they are worth for me, try a daisy chain or a light single or light tandom in their place
Spoons have caused us nothing but grief trying to run them- Skip runs a couple and they work for him but.....
We run 4 singles, 4 tandoms, 4 double umbrellas, and 2 deep mojo's with an umbrella also (8 on planers- 6 on the gunnels)
This spread works great for us, we tried running lures way back and never hooked up on them- boat wash??
Your boat may be different- some guys use wwb's and catch plenty
Another thing to remember is your turning can be a B&^%&^ch with rods back 300+ft, my crew never wanted to real them in either??(dont know why-haha)
We moved our way backs onto the planers and started catching fish on them???
Last year we were out one day in the same area with Skip- we boated 24 fish by 2pm and he boated 26- he stayed out 1 hour past us???
No spoons in the mix at all- if you do choose to run them, keep them away from your other lures since they spin and wobble all over the place
Again I am not an expert on this but I have done a lot of homework and gotten a lot of good advise from the experts around here
Good luck out there

·
Tidal Fish Super Subscriber - I support TidalFish.
2,946 Posts